

Media Release — Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution

## Tribunal to hold inquiry into objections to initial redistribution proposal

The Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution Tribunal has received 12 objections to the initial proposal for the redistribution of Tasmania's 15 Legislative Council electoral divisions.

The objections are briefly outlined in the attachment.

The Tribunal will hold a public inquiry into the objections next week.

The inquiry will be conducted at the Tasmanian Electoral Commission, Level 2 Telstra Centre, 70 Collins St, Hobart from 10:00 AM on Wednesday 26 March 2008 and will continue at Henty House Auditorium, Launceston from 10:00 AM on Thursday 27 March 2008.

Media and the public are welcome to attend.

ENDS — 4:00 PM Wednesday 19 March 2008

For further information — Julian Type DEPUTY ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER



## Media Release — Legislative Council Electoral Boundaries Redistribution

## **ATTACHMENT**

## SUMMARY OF OBJECTIONS TO INITIAL REDISTRIBUTION PROPOSAL

Date received	Objector	Subject
21 February 2008	Hon Kerry Finch MLC	Addition of Frankford part of West Tamar municipal area to Rosevears
28 February 2008	James Walker	Opposition to additions to Pembroke
29 February 2008	Ian Booth	Opposition to addition of southern part of Central Highlands municipal area to Rowallan
3 March 2008	Dr John Morris	Preference for naming Paterson and Wellington "Launceston" and "Hobart"
3 March 2008	Launceston Chamber of Commerce	Preference for naming Paterson "Launceston"
7 March 2008	Launceston City Council	Preference for naming Paterson and Wellington "Launceston" and "Hobart"
7 March 2008	Hon Greg Hall MLC	Irrelevance of name Rowallan
11 March 2008	Margot Smart	Preference for naming Paterson "Launceston"
11 March 2008	Australian Labor Party	Aspects of the initial proposal relating to methodology, boundaries and names of divisions
11 March 2008	Tasmanian Greens	Alternative designs of Wellington, Nelson and Elwick
11 March 2008	Hon Jim Wilkinson MLC	Preference for Upper Sandy Bay to remain in Nelson
11 March 2008	Hon Don Wing MLC	Preference for naming Paterson "Launceston"